Tim McIlrath (Rise Against) Covers Guns N Roses

I am still kicking my ass for missing Rise Against when they recently played Cleveland.  I literally overlooked the show until hours before they started and had already committed to other engagements.

Ok, I am done feeling sorry for myself.

Today I was reminded of an awesome protest compilation album being released by A-F Records called This Concerns Everyone.

What does this have to do with Rise Against you ask?  Go on, keep reading…

The album will feature a ton of artists playing covers and originals including Tom Morello, Tim McIlrath (Rise Against), Chris Farren (Fake Problems), Erica Freas (RVIVR), Chris Wollard & the Ship Thieves, as well as Justin Sane and Chris#2 (Anti-Flag), just to name a few.  See below for the complete track listing.

What first stated as a split between Anti-Flag’s Justin Sane and Chris #2 as well as The Homeless Gospel Choir and Chris Stowe turned into an inspirational idea.  More and more people got involved and soon the split turned into a compilation.

An undisclosed portion of proceeds will be donated to the Right To Heal Campaign.  I think this is an amazing way for artists to reach out to troops in need.

The good folk at Alternative Press are currently streaming Tim McIlrath’s rendition of a classic Guns N Roses track.  Head over to Alternative Press to check out his rendition of “Civil War”.

This Concerns Everyone

This comp drops on 11/18/2014.  Head over to A-F Records and pre-order yourself a copy now.

Side A:
01. Chris Farren (Fake Problems) – Establishment Blues (Rodriguez)
02. Erica Freas (RVIVR) – Tiny Murders
03. Chris Conley (Saves The Day) – A Change Is Gonna Come (Sam Cooke)
04. Chris #2 (Anti-Flag) – What Did You Learn In School Today (Pete Seeger)
05. PJ Bond – Dirty Hands
06. Anika Pyle (Chumped) – Ugly
07. Tom Morello (The Nightwatchman) – House Gone Up In Flames
08. The Homeless Gospel Choir – Some People
09. Chris Stowe – Other Peoples Guns
Side B:
10. Chris Wollard (Hot Water Music) – Selected Scenes
11. Roger Harvey – What Are You Fighting For (Phil Ochs)
12. Shawna Potter and Brooks Harlan (War On Women) – Servilia
13. Tim Mcllrath (Rise Against) – Civil War (Guns N’ Roses)
14. Justin Sane (Anti-Flag) – I Ain’t Got No Home (Woody Guthrie)
15. Thomas From The Burning Land (Strike Anywhere) – The Deep State (Field Recording)
Digital Bonus Tracks:
01. Prophet Motive – Hallowawa
02. Josh Massie – Life During War Time (Green Day)
03. Spoonboy – Last Of The Asshole (The Max Levine Ensemble)
04. Pat Thetic – Owe Us A Living (CRASS)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *